Tag Archives: Ole Miss

March 13 bracketology

A crazy day of basketball on Thursday around the country. This Thursday may be the craziest day of the year in college basketball, even including the NCAAs, just with the breadth of games and games going from noon till early morning. Sixty games were played on Thursday. A whopping twenty-three of them were decided by two possessions or less (six points). Several teams played their way out of bubble consideration, including Illinois, Texas A&M, and Old Dominion.

Either Texas Southern or Prairie View A&M will win the SWAC automatic bid today as they battle in a SWAC semifinal. Southern and Alabama State are both ineligible due to APR sanctions, and cannot make the NCAA tournament.

Now onto the bracket.

Midwest Region (Cleveland, OH)
(Louisville, Thursday/Saturday)

(1) Kentucky (SEC)

(16) Montana (Big Sky)/ROBERT MORRIS (NEC)

(8) Xavier

(9) Ohio State

(Seattle, Friday/Sunday)

(5) Wichita State

(12) Stephen F. Austin (Southland)

(4) Utah

(13) UC Davis (Big West)

(Louisville, Thu/Sat)

(6) SMU (American)

(11) BYU/(11) Murray State

(3) Iowa State

(14) Central Michigan (MAC)

(Omaha, Fri/Sun)

(7) Cincinnati

(10) Oklahoma State

(2) Wisconsin

(15) North Carolina Central (MEAC)

East Region (Syracuse, NY)

(Charlotte, Fri/Sun)

(1) Virginia


(8) Davidson (Atlantic 10)

(9) Georgia

(Portland, Thu/Sat)

(5) North Carolina

(12) Boise State (MWC)


(13) Louisiana Tech (Conference USA)

(Pittsburgh, Thu/Sat)

(6) Butler

(11) Temple

(3) Notre Dame


(Omaha, Fri/Sun)

(7) Oregon

(10) North Carolina State

(2) Kansas


West Region (Los Angeles)

(Pittsburgh, Thu/Sat)

(1) Villanova (Big East)

(16) NORTH FLORIDA (Atlantic Sun)

(8) St. John’s

(9) Colorado State

(Jacksonville, Thu/Sat)

(5) Arkansas

(12) WOFFORD (SoCon)

(4) Baylor

(13) Georgia State (Sun Belt)

(Columbus, Fri/Sun)

(6) Georgetown

(11) Purdue

(3) Oklahoma

(14) New Mexico State (WAC)

(Portland, Thu/Sat)

(7) Michigan State

(10) Virginia Commonwealth

(2) Arizona


South Region (Houston)

(Charlotte, Fri/Sun)

(1) Duke

(16) LAFAYETTE (Patriot)

(8) Iowa

(9) Georgia

(Jacksonville, Thu/Sat)

(5) West Virginia

(12) VALPARAISO (Horizon)

(4) Louisville

(13) Yale (Ivy)

(Columbus, Fri/Sun)

(6) Providence

(11) Indiana/(11) Miami (FL)

(3) Maryland

(14) Albany

(Seattle, Fri/Sun)

(7) San DIego State

(10) Dayton


(15) Texas Southern (SWAC)


1: Ole Miss, LSU, UCLA, Texas

2: Tulsa, Richmond, Illinois, Old Dominion

3: Harvard, Stanford, Texas A&M, Buffalo

4: Iona (MAAC), Illinois State, Rhode Island, Connecticut

5: St. Mary’s, Green Bay, Pittsburgh, George Washington

6: Seton Hall, Memphis, Wyoming, Eastern Washington

7: UTEP, William & Mary (CAA), South Dakota State (Summit), Toledo

8: Wyoming, Bucknell (Patriot), Charleston Southern (Big South), St. Francis (NY) (NEC)

Bubble teams: California, Tennessee, Kent State, La Salle, Minnesota, Michigan, Arizona State, Penn State, Clemson, South Carolina

Enjoy the games!