Tag Archives: CFP

What if the proposed 12 team CFP was in place from 2014 to now?

The proposal of the expanded college football playoff to twelve teams has been discussed for months. Last year’s playoff would not have included a PAC 12 representative. But something which hasn’t been discussed is what would have happened if we had a 12 team playoff from the start of the playoff in 2014.

Here are what the playoffs would have been from 2014 to 2019.

2014 CFP: Alabama, Oregon, Florida State, Ohio State get byes.

(12) Boise State-(5)Baylor in Waco
(11) Arizona-(6) TCU in Fort Worth (Kansas State was 11th, but in same league)
(10) Kansas State-(7) Mississippi State in Starkville
(9) Ole Miss-(8) Michigan State in East Lansing

2015 CFP: Clemson, Alabama, Michigan State, Oklahoma byes.

(12) Houston-(5) Iowa in Iowa City
(11) TCU-(6) Stanford in Palo Alto
(10) North Carolina-(7) Ohio State in Columbus
(9) Florida State-(8) Notre Dame in South Bend

2016 CFP: Alabama, Clemson, Ohio State, Washington byes

(12) Western Michigan-(5) Penn State in State College
(11) Florida State-(6) Michigan in Ann Arbor
(10) Colorado-(7) Oklahoma in Norman
(9) USC-(8) Wisconsin in Madison

2017 CFP: Clemson, Oklahoma, Georgia, Ohio State byes.

(12) UCF-(5) Alabama in Tuscaloosa
(11) Washington-(6) Wisconsin in Madison
(10) Miami-(7) Auburn
(9) Penn State-(8) USC in Los Angeles

2018 CFP: Alabama, Clemson, Ohio State, Oklahoma byes.

(12) Penn State-(5) Notre Dame in South Bend
(11) LSU-(6) Georgia in Athens
(10) Florida-(7) Michigan in Ann Arbor
(9) Washington-(8) UCF in Orlando

This would be a ratings bonanza.

2019 CFP: LSU, Ohio State, Clemson, Oklahoma byes.

(12) Memphis-(5) Georgia in Athens
(11) Penn State-(6) Oregon in Eugene
(10) Utah-(7) Baylor in Waco
(9) Florida-(8) Wisconsin in Madison

Utah was 11th, but no rematch of conference games so they are 10 seed.

2020 CFP: Alabama, Clemson, Ohio State, Oklahoma byes.

(12) Coastal Carolina-(5) Texas A&M in College Station
(11) Indiana-(6) Notre Dame in South Bend
(10) Iowa State-(7) Florida in Gainesville
(9) Georgia-(8) Cincinnati in Cincinnati

Your thoughts?